Sixth Form Pastoral Care at Sir Thomas Rich's

Our aim is to help students settle in to Sixth Form life as quickly and easily as possible, as well as to nurture their own specific skills through a range of opportunities, both academic and extra-curricular.

Pastoral Staff Contact Details

Head of Sixth Form Mr Matthew Lynch mtl@strs.org.uk
Head of Upper School Mr Peter Daniell pmd@strs.org.uk
Head of Year 12 Mr Barry O'Neill bjo@strs.org.uk
Head of Year 13 Miss Ellen Jauncey elj@strs.org.uk
Higher Education Lead Mrs Catherine Morris clm@strs.org.uk
Head of Careers Mrs Jenny Manning jam@strs.org.uk
Sixth Form Administrator Mrs Sara Whittard sw@strs.org.uk


Form Tutor12BMr William Markswrm@strs.org.uk
 12CMrs Ruth Workmanrw@strs.org.uk
 12GMiss Samantha Loadsjl@strs.org.uk
 12HMr Adam Mitchellapm@strs.org.uk
 12LMrs Fiona Banksfjb@strs.org.uk
  Mrs Sara Whittardsw@strs.org.uk
 12RMrs Rebecca Zurickrcz@strs.org.uk
  Mr James Raddonjpr@strs.org.uk
 12SMr David Gowlerdag@strs.org.uk
 12TMrs Sarah Rochesfr@strs.org.uk
  Mrs Jenny Manningjam@strs.org.uk


Form Tutor13BMrs Deborah Gloverdjg@strs.org.uk
  Mr Ian Robsoniar@strs.org.uk
 13CMr Robert Birkettreb@strs.org.uk
  Mrs Pauline Jonespyj@strs.org.uk
 13GMs Gayle Bennettgab@strs.org.uk
  Mr Kevin Jobsonkj@strs.org.uk
 13HMr John Buttlejgb@strs.org.uk
 13LMrs Naomi Fairncf@strs.org.uk
  Mr Scott Carbinscc@strs.org.uk
  Mr Christopher Gladwellcg@strs.org.uk
 13RMrs Abigail Harrisah@strs.org.uk
  Mrs Rosie Tomlinsonrt@strs.org.uk
 13SMr Chris Breamcdb@strs.org.uk
 13TMrs Catherine Morrisclm@strs.org.uk
  Mrs Birgit Testoni-Rankenbtr@strs.org.uk


Useful Links

From the Head of Sixth Form

The emphasis of the Pastoral System in Years 12 and 13 is primarily to support individual needs and requirements. Our aim is to help students settle in to Sixth Form life as quickly and easily as possible, as well as to identify any problems which may affect this process, either for the Year group as a whole or for individuals.

The main aim is to encourage each student to develop an understanding of their responsibilities as a member of the Sixth Form, as well as to nurture their own specific skills through a range of opportunities, both academic and extra-curricular.

Tutor group size is generally between fifteen and twenty students, which facilitates the tutor getting to know the students well and allows a close relationship to develop between tutor and student, based on mutual respect. The tutor is also responsible for monitoring academic progress and will have regular one-to-one discussions, particularly following the publications of Order Grades.

Key Stage 5 Heads support tutors in their role, as well as organising specific events, such as Induction Week and the Leadership Courses, edit the Sixth Form Prospectus and oversee crucial activities such as UCAS applications. They also conduct interviews with students about matters of concern, where appropriate.

A crucial aspect of Sixth Form life is the appointment of School Captains, Observators and Prefects. This takes place during the second half of the summer term of Year 12, so the students are ready to take up their respective duties in September. The prefect body is an essential element in the day-to-day running of the school and those selected are relied upon to be a strong link between the staff and pupils.

The student voice is represented by termly Sixth Form Council meetings, chaired by Key Stage 5 Heads. Students have the opportunity to raise issues through their form representatives; these are then discussed at the meeting and passed on to the Head and Governors for consideration.

The welfare of our students is of paramount concern and consequently staff spend a great deal of time, both in the classroom and beyond, getting to know the students as individuals and cultivating mutual understanding with their parents.

The 16-19 Bursary Fund

For information about the 16-19 Bursary Fund, please read below: