Year 10 Pastoral Care at Sir Thomas Rich's

The expectations on the pupils are high, not just in regards to their academic progress, but as well as their contribution to the school community

Pastoral Staff Contact Details

Head of KS4Mr Peter Daniellpmd@strs.org.uk
Head of Year 10Mr David Tilleydpt@strs.org.uk
Form Tutor10BMr Christopher Powellcgp@strs.org.uk
 10RMr Stuart Coopersrc@strs.org.uk
 10SMrs Sarah Jonessej@strs.org.uk
  Mr Alan Passeyacp@strs.org.uk
 10TMiss Chloe Rigbycer@strs.org.uk


From the Head of Year 10

In Year 10, the Pastoral Care is there to offer the boys support, whilst encouraging all to reach their potential. The boys start their GCSE courses in September, and the majority will sit their RS Short Course examinations during May and June. A vast number of subjects will also have ongoing controlled assessments, and the boys should be planning for these in advance.

In Year 10, the boys will start to consider their future path through education. There is a comprehensive gifted and talented programme which many of the boys participate in. This helps them to consider an area of interest, and extend their understanding within it. Many guest speakers are also brought into the school to talk to the year group which helps excite and challenge the students. In the summer term there is an opportunity to go on a trip to the University of Oxford, which offers them an insight to the process of applying and attending university.The boys also start to plan their work experience as well as have the opportunity to attend the careers fair.

The expectations on the pupils are high, not just in regards to their academic progress, but as well as their contribution to the school community.

Communication

During the year, parents have a number of ways to communicate with the school in a formal manner. There is an information evening, a parents' evening, and through Parent Gateway you can comment on the order grades as well as the examination results. Of course we welcome communication from parents at any time and encourage you to contact your sons tutor or Head of Year, using the information above.

As Head of Year 10, I have two main priorities for the boys to consistently consider throughout the year:

  1. Quickly adapt to their GCSE courses, and the expectations at this level
  2. Set high standards in behaviour, organisation, effort and uniform.