Year 9 Pastoral Care at Sir Thomas Rich's

Pastoral support is at the heart of teaching and learning and helps pupils to achieve their educational objectives in a transition year

Pastoral Staff Contact Details

Head of KS3Mr Rhys Daviesrmd@strs.org.uk
Head of Year 9Mr Nick O'Neilno@strs.org.uk
Form Tutor9BMr Adam Flatteryasf@strs.org.uk
  Mr Nigel Pitelndp@strs.org.uk
 9RMr Oliver Deaconojd@strs.org.uk
 9SMrs Lauren Marrinanlmm@strs.org.uk
 9TMr Tom Reecetjr@strs.org.uk


From the Head of Year 9

Pastoral care in Year 9 continues to aid the development of pupils by reinforcing aspirations and maturity, encouraging attainment and level of responsible autonomy. Pastoral support is at the heart of teaching and learning and helps pupils to achieve their educational objectives in a transition year.

One of the key objectives in Year 9 is helping pupils' planning and preparation for choosing their GCSE options, which is co-ordinated by Mr Tilley who has structured a very helpful programme.

The pupils in Year 9 decide upon the extra-curricular provision through a series of votes in forms and as a year group. A small group of pupils are then responsible for organising a trip towards the end of the year, this is supported by HOY and form tutors.

Year 9 Trips

We also run a number of Year 9 trips:

  • Battlefields (History)
  • European visits to Spain and Germany

Tutorials

Within Year 9 tutorials, pupils will be expected to present planners, signed by parents, to their tutors once a week. They will also discuss academic targets and extra-curricular achievements; plan and participate in a form assembly; and, through discussion, embrace some of the key themes of the Social and Emotional Aspects of Learning (such as: social skills and empathy, motivation and managing feelings). Such themes will be addressed through a range of active tutorial tasks.

Rewards

In addition to the termly commendations, which are awarded for excellent academic achievement and progress across the school, Year 9 pupils may be awarded either a Head of Year or Deputy Headmaster's Commendation for a range of achievements.

Overview

As Year 9 pupils choose their options this year, a one-to-one meeting is held between the pupil and Head of Year or Head of Key Stage during the Spring Term.